Posted by: sarah | February 12, 2009

doo doo doo dooooo~~ i luv yer smile~~~

Will someone else please take up the issue of new drama “Smile”? With Arashi’s Matsujun playing a half-Filipino “whose father has died and mother has disappeared. Despite his misfortune and the issues he deals with, such as race, he lives his life positively with a constant smile“? I simply don’t have enough grounding to tackle the world of “haafu” kids andwhether Matsujun’s eyebrows are “enough” to passport (ha! pun not intended) him to the haafu-experience (whatever that might be). Because I’m just like “buhh”?

Also featuring much hated by me Aragaki Yui (short version: I used to like her, then Code Blue, then frothing at the mouth red-misted rage at the mere sound of her name), playing “a young woman living cheerfully despite losing her ability to speak due to an accident“. I suppose at least she won’t be talking? I’m sorry, “Gakky”. It’s me. And you. We won’t do.

I hope Jun gets to speak in Tagalog.

Everything else about this = feeeeeeeeeear (google suggests the tagalog nahihintatakutan <– gripped by fear, that’s about right!)

Responses

  1. OH GOD it’s going to be like that time that corpse-faced one out of SMAP played a blind dude as if he had cerebral palsy isn’t it.

  2. “corpse-faced one out of SMAP”

    You say that like it will help me identify a particular member…

  3. members of SMAP:
    1. the funny one who can’t sing
    2. “best jeanist lifetime award” lionhaired kimutaku
    3. the one who looks like a corpse
    4-5. the other two.
    6. the one that left (or was he pushed??).

    good songs by smap:
    1. ‘shake’
    2. er…
    3. …that’s it.

  4. Hmm. Super Modern Artistic Performance: my knowledge; 1. “oh no it’s” Kimutaku, 2. ridiculous beanie hat man on Utaban 3. I dunno. Is there a J-equivalent to gofugyrself? I’m sure they’d be on there.

    (Sorry SMAP).


Leave a Reply

Categories

